Houston: We Have a Humility Problem

“But who are you, O man, to talk back to God? Shall what is formed say to him who formed it, ‘Why did you make me like this?’” —Romans 9:20 (NIV84)

As a generation — as humankind — I think we have a humility problem.

Let’s take a brief trip through Scripture and consider who God is:

God – who formed Man in His image … so I would know Him as my Creator (Genesis 2:7)
God – who parted the Red Sea … so I would know His power (Exodus 14)
God – who gave The Law … so I would know His holiness and justice (Deuteronomy 5)
God – who sustained Job … so I would know His faithfulness (Job 42)
God – who walked with David … so I would know Him as my Shepherd (Psalm 23)
God – who gave Proverbs to Solomon … so I would know His wisdom (Proverbs)
God – who saved Daniel from the Lion … so I would know His sovereignty (Daniel 6)
God – who sent Jesus to earth as a baby … so I would know His humanity (Matthew 1)
God – who poured out His wrath on Jesus … so I would know His mercy (Mark 14-15)
God – who raised Jesus from the dead … so I would know eternal life! (Mark 16)
God – who left His Holy Spirit on Earth … so I would know His comfort (Acts 2)

God has given us all of who He is … so we could know all of Him! This list doesn’t even scratch the surface of His immeasurable holiness and faithfulness and loveliness and goodness and justice and love, and yet … does it make you want to drop to your knees and fall prostrate on the floor in worship of Him? It should!

So, in light of who God is, who are we to tell God He is wrong about:

  • What defines a family?
  • When a baby’s life begins (or when it should end)?
  • When an elderly, ill, or disabled person’s life should end?
  • Who should be allowed to pray — and where, when, and how?
  • When it’s “ok” to be divorced?
  • Who should be leading the local bodies of His Church?

There are a lot of “hot-button” issues in that list (and it is by no means exhaustive). And my intention here is not to spark a political or social issues debate (so I’m going to kindly ask that we not turn the Comments section of this post into one).

No, instead, I’m going to ask you to completely set aside your thoughts on these issues for a few minutes and seek God’s thoughts on them. I’m going to ask you to pray to God – even if you have never done so before – and ask Him to help your heart to be humble and show you how to yield to His ways in these areas.

I think we have reached a point in our “advancement” as a society where we now esteem our own thoughts and opinions more than those of the Almighty God. And in the course of our “enlightenment,” society seems to have come to the conclusion that we are either equal to God, better than God, or at least … irrelevant to God. As a result, I think we are learning the hard way how destructive “our way” is as we witness exponential increases in:

  • Horrifically violent crimes
  • Hate-filled rhetoric
  • Children overcome with depression and anxiety
  • Broken families of stressed-out mommies, absent daddies and undisciplined children
  • Empty churches (whether physically or spiritually)

But …

If we would humble ourselves in light of who God is (see list above), seeking what God has to say (I believe The Bible is God’s perfect Word so we don’t have to wonder what God has to say on these issues), I believe we would experience an outpouring of God’s blessing on our relationships, on our families, on our churches, on our cities, on our nations, on our world, and on humanity. And I believe the result would be:

  • A culture of peace rather than dissent
  • A culture of unity rather than divisiveness
  • A culture of life rather than death
  • Thriving children and families
  • Happier marriages and healthier children (note, I did not say “easy” marriages)
  • Revived, Spirit-filled churches

And lest anyone think that I am sitting here on my righteous high horse:

Church … Christian … it starts with you! It starts with ME:

“If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land.” —2 Chronicles 7:14

And it all starts with recognizing: we have a humility problem.

So, I’m asking God today:

  • Where in my life have I hardened my heart against God’s Word?
  • Where have I become prideful and allowed my thoughts, opinions, positions, and actions to be formed without regard for His holiness?
  • Help me be in humble submission to His sovereign Lordship in every area of my life.

Will you join me?

Let Me Hear From You

