Psalm 119:49-56 – Only God’s Word is Able

Psalm 119:49-56 (NIV)

ז Zayin

49 Remember your word to your servant,
for you have given me hope.
50 My comfort in my suffering is this:
Your promise preserves my life.
51 The arrogant mock me unmercifully,
but I do not turn from your law.
52 I remember, Lord, your ancient laws,
and I find comfort in them.
53 Indignation grips me because of the wicked,
who have forsaken your law.
54 Your decrees are the theme of my song
wherever I lodge.
55 In the night, Lord, I remember your name,
that I may keep your law.
56 This has been my practice:
I obey your precepts.

Lessons

Not every lesson in Scripture is difficult to see or complicated to explain. I found the lessons in this passage of Psalm 119 to be straight forward and direct.

49. God’s Word gives us hope.

50. God’s Word gives us safety.

51. God’s Word gives us self-control.

52. God’s Word gives us comfort.

53. God’s Word gives us desire for righteousness.

54. God’s Word gives us a heart for worship.

55. God’s Word gives us “light” for our path in this dark world.

56. God’s Word gives us a pattern for obedience.

Applications

49. Where do I turn to for hope?

50.  What is my source of safety when I feel threatened?

51. How do I maintain self-control when I am under attack?

52. Where do I find comfort?

53. Do I desire righteousness? Am I indignant (or ambivalent?) toward those who forsake God’s Word?

54. What motivates my worship?

55. How do I discern the right path, in the darkest nights of my life?

56. How do I establish the patterns of my life?

I wonder if the reason these lessons are so simple and so clear is because these are the areas of life where we are most tempted to make our own way … to dig from within our own strength. And yet, ultimately, we find ourselves falling short in every way. Only God’s Word is able.

Prayer

Lord, please help me to come to you and your Word only for my source of hope, safety, self-control, comfort, desire for righteousness, worship, light, and pattern for living.

Let Me Hear From You

